Sometimes you have to separate the art from the artist.

Sean Witzke’s  recent post about the recent Before Watchmen stuff.

David Brothers’ post about the Kirby suit, and the exact same conscience crisis I’m feeling now.

You know, I really don’t want to feel like shit for buying comics I enjoy. I don’t want to have to feel like I’m contributing to the coffers of robber barons when I buy comics by writers I enjoy and artists I enjoy.

At the same time, I don’t want to deny good comics made by good people a chance because of malfeasance the creators themselves had no part in. I don’t want Jeff Lemire and Alberto Ponticelli’s Frankenstein to be a casualty just because its company is full of scumbags, and I don’t want the first chance Francis Manapul has had to really let loose with his art, experimenting with all types of flows and flavors and bust-your-shit-open layouts to fail because of the history of assfucking creators the company he works for has amassed. I love Mark Waid’s Daredevil, in spite of the legacy of pain Marvel has earned in its dealings with Jack Kirby. OMAC is already on its way out, and if DC hadn’t been so.. humane in its dealings with Kirby in the 70s, I’d be conflicted on that one too.

I want to be able to think of myself as a decent person and still enjoy good comics. Also, I don’t want to have so much to vent about that my apple cider gets cold. Goddamnit, comics.

This entry was posted in comics, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sometimes you have to separate the art from the artist.

  1. Pingback: Serious Business: How I Feel About The Watchmen Prequels | Niel Jacoby's Blog

Leave a Reply

